His Saving Grace Book ´ Secrets & Seduction ò Sharon cullen

Reader His Saving Grace

His Saving Grace Book ´ Secrets & Seduction ò Sharon cullen ò Perfect for fans of Mary Balogh Sharon Cullen’s captivating novel tells the deeply emotional tale of two devoted lovers facing the ravages of war For months now Lady Grace Ashworth has mourned the death of her beloved husband—until the dShield Grace from a life of inconvenience by driving her away But Grace will have none of that Despite every obstacle Michael throws in her path she stubbornly soldiers on fighting not only for their marriage but for the love they once shared In the end will her determination alone be enough to save Michael from the darkness that threatens to consume him? The blurb on this book touted it as “perfect for fans of Mary Balogh” with the “deeply emotional tale of two devoted lovers facing the ravages of war” Of course there was no way I could resist a sell like that And I have to say the book delivers on its promiseAs the story begins Grace is still mourning the loss of her husband Michael has been presumed dead for nearly a year ever since an intense battle in the Crimean War The world thinks she should be ready to move on but Grace loved Michael deeply and she isn’t ready to let him go That turns out to be a good thing when he turns up alive on her front porchGrace is elated to have the love of her life return but she learns uickly that he is not the man he once was Michael suffered brain damage during the war and it affects him in many different ways He has debilitating headaches; he has trouble reading and writing; his short term memory is terrible; and he is uick to anger He is unlike the Michael of her memories and yet he is the man she is in love with the man she mourned Despite any of the obstacles Grace is determined not to take their second chance for granted This as Michael uestions whether she would have been better off without himI read a fair number of books with tortured heroes since I tend to seek them out This one is a little different though in that the love of a good woman just isn’t enough to make everything ok So often in these books the happiness found in the heroine’s arms overshadows all the ugliness in the hero’s life But this book doesn’t take that approach It takes a hard look at whether love can be enough to hold these two together even without the hope that everything else –or anything else– can be fixed It can be hard to read at times Michael has a very difficult road and he often makes it worse by pushing Grace away But I like this dark realism Yes I like my fantasy sometimes that love conuers all but does it really?Both Grace and Michael are well drawn and sympathetic characters Through their present day actions intermingled with flashbacks the author paints a very solid picture of real love between them It’s lovely at times but at other times heartbreaking or sexy hopeless or hopeful I won’t spoil the ending but I appreciate that it strays a bit from the norm while still leaving me satisfiedI would recommendRating BB ARC provided by publisher

Sharon Cullen ✓ Mobi

Perfect for fans of Mary Balogh Sharon Cullen’s captivating novel tells the deeply emotional tale of two devoted lovers facing the ravages of war For months now Lady Grace Ashworth has mourned the death of her beloved husband until the day a very much alive Michael arrives at her front door It’s nothing less than a miracle However Grace soon realizes t It’s the journey through a tale that makes a book a total emotional delight whether or not you’ve already figured out the end The journey through Sharon Cullen’s His Saving Grace will shred your heart one moment leave you hopeful the next and have your reaching for a tissue often than you would like to admitWhen the Earl of Blackbourne Michael Ashworth left his young bride for war he was to return to his love but fate had other plans Lady Grace Ashworth has mourned the loss of her husband for almost a year as her cruel brother in law installs himself in her home and relegates her to a broken down dower house on the grounds Now he wishes to relieve himself of the burden of caring for her by marrying her off to whoever will take herBut Grace’s deepest wish came true when a black carriage pulled up and her Michael stepped out But was this her Michael? Damaged both physically and mentally he is a stranger to her and her to him A strange man who has arrived with him knows his every need and that is her job not his Can Grace help Michael recover from the trauma of war? Can she sooth away his nightmares with her love? Can her determination help him to heal as much as possible or will he reject her thinking he is freeing her to find a new and better life?Sharon Cullen has been true to the ways of the past while telling a heart wrenching tale that repeats itself to this day Her heroine is strong determined and in love Her hero is damaged broken and has given up not the normal swarthy hero of the heaving bosom type romances that are so readily available in historical romances Ms Cullen has drawn a bleak world and added the light of hope to brighten a story of strength love and determination Wonderfully romantic brutally raw and completely enthrallingI received an ARC edition from Loveswept in exchange for my honest reviewSeries Secrets Seductions Book 4Publication Date December 23 2014Publisher LovesweptISBN 9780553391572Genre Historical RomanceAvailable from | Barnes NobleReviewed for

Mobi Í Secrets & Seduction ✓ Sharon Cullen

His Saving Grace Secrets & Seduction #4 Hat this Michael isn’t the same man who left for the Crimean War She’s stunned to learn that he has suffered a devastating head injury Putting all her own desires aside Grace resolves to devote herself to Michael’s recovery and to love him no matter what troubles may come Convinced that his wife is wasting her time on a broken man Michael attempts to I got this one for an honest review Oh I loved most of it It’s the story of Lady Grace Ashworth who lives as a dowager in a very run down dowager house because her husband died in the Crimean War about 10 months ago and his brother – a man you learn to hate within the first couple of pages – made her move there She doesn’t care about many things any lives in two of the rooms and the kitchen eats with the only servant she has in the kitchen But she is still young and beautiful and to get rid of her and the fact that he has to pay her one third of the estates income her brother in law wants her to get married again Well wants her to – that sounds rather nice He arranges it Shortly before this can wedding can take place Michael suddenly arrives Her very much alive husband A miracle But he isn’t the same any He is hurt In pain He comes with a Cossack servant an impressive man who shields Grace from him because Michael wants him to Because of the way he acts she hurts than ever before He tries not to see her not to cross her path but on the other way he wants to take over the estate again manage it so he has to give a show which is rather hard for him because there is one big secret – his head was hurt badly He cannot remember things he said a minute before But it isn’t just his short term memory he doesn’t remember names faces etc from the past either Except for Grace and their past together Nevertheless he feels attracted to her His body reacts when she is near him They have to remodel their life hide things from everybody else around them Try to show the world that nothing has changed but so many things are different from a year before I think you cannot not fall in love with Grace because she isn’t perfect She feels so real So honest and realistic She is not the beautiful perfect heroine No She makes mistakes is stubborn and still in love with her husband who doesn’t seem to care about her feelings for him any because Michael thinks that she cannot be in love with the person he become The way Sharon Cullen introduces Michael makes you dislike him but from chapter to chapter you learn to understand why he acts like he does and why he became the man he is now It’s one of the great romances to be told It’s not romantic or very erotic it’s the tale of two people who were deeply in love got separated by war and have to find together again because they know that there are not many possibilities 5 stars