FREE DOC ê READER The Tragedy Paper ´ NATURALTREATMENT

EPUB The Tragedy Paper

FREE DOC ê READER The Tragedy Paper ´ NATURALTREATMENT Ô Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Looking for Alaska Jennifer Weiner #1 New York Times bestselling author calls Elizabeth LaBan’s The Tragedy Paper “a beguiling and beautifully written tale of first love and heartbreak” It follows the story ofFriend” A friend is the last thing Tim expects or wants he just hopes to get through his senior year unnoticed Yet despite his efforts to blend into the background he finds himself falling for the uintessential “It” girl Vanessa Sheller girlfriend of Irving’s most popular boy To Tim's surprise Vanessa is into him too but she can kiss her social status goodbye if anyone ever finds out Tim and Va DNF 25%Dull as dishwater and I like my water far interesting Annoying narrative voice and characters that were gray pale gray and light gray

Elizabeth LaBan Õ The Tragedy Paper EBOOK

Nessa begin a clandestine romance but looming over them is the Tragedy Paper Irving’s version of a senior year thesis assigned by the school’s least forgiving teacher   Jumping between viewpoints of the love struck Tim and Duncan a current senior about to uncover the truth of Tim and Vanessa The Tragedy Paper is a compelling tale of forbidden love and the lengths people will go to keep their secret This review is also posted on B's Book Blog25 stars Sometimes it's hard impossible even to know how much magnitude a choice holds until it is all over Duncan Meade enters the Irving School a senior this year As a school tradition each senior gets their own dorm room without having to share it with anyone On the first day of school each senior will go to the senior hall and find their room; and in the room there will be treasures left behind for them from the previous senior who lived there Duncan has one fear he is afraid to find out if the smallest room in the hall belongs to him And of course it does The treasures the previous owner Tim Macbeth leaves behind for Duncan is a note and a stack of CDs Those CDs play the recordings of Tim's story for Duncan as the meat of your Tragedy Paper which is the Irving School's senior English paper to be handed in at the end of the school year The Tragedy Paper started out for me as intriguing; I was curious to see how the connection between Tim Macbeth and Duncan Meade would play out Would it be you know like Shakespeare's Macbeth in which Macbeth kills Duncan? Or would Tim Macbeth share the same tragic flaw with Macbeth and Duncan the receiving end of that flaw like King Duncan? Or what? Of course I was expecting the use of these two names to have some significance I have been taught in Literature class that a text alludes to something like this it is saying something implicitly and you should find what it infers But it looks like this book falls flat in that department because as far as I know the only function of this allusion is only to tell the reader Hey This book is a tragedy because its two main characters are named after the two in Shakespeare's tragedy Macbeth Hmm Right now in my head I can even see my beloved Lit teacher hold up her index finger in a warning manner and hear her say her favorite disapproval NononoAgain I don't seem to share everyone who's read it's enthusiasm about this book Some say that it's deep and profound but I honestly don't see how that can be It's not like I suck that much at reading between the lines and critical thinking; how about it's just meh? 90% of the book is about Tim told narrated by Tim's recordings which Duncan listens to; while Duncan's part takes up only about 10% And this makes me wonder why it has to be written this way Not only does it bother me that the book doesn't just simply tell Tim's story which already is the focus if not the entire meat of this story it has to have Duncan as a medium why bother? but it also irritates me that knowing very well Duncan's function is only to hang around and play the CDs so we can listen to them as well the book tries so hard to have Tim affect his romantic life in a way trying to make a connection between them when it's strained and uncalled for If there'd been some believable and close connection between them for the recordings to have their natural effects I would've believed it and appreciated it In the end I'll say that The Tragedy Paper is not a bad book but there are a lot of things that I personally didn't like The ending for instance felt too contrived in the way that it is steered into a tragedy pattern which I understand since I get it the point is that this book is a tragedy; but I still didn't like it that much And the effects Tim's story has on Duncan are to me a little too unbelievable I'd love for it to have substance and if the switching between two points of view is going to be this unbalanced and the connection this strained how about no switching at all? I'd be happy to read Tim's story alone as the whole book without Duncan having a voice in part of the narration That's just me For the most part I enjoyed Tim's story and wanted to see how it was tragic and how it would end but once I did I felt greatly underwhelmed Still as I said it's not a bad book It has good potentials but it's just not my cup of tea 25 stars I received a digital copy from NetGalley and the publisher for review

TEXT í The Tragedy Paper Õ Elizabeth LaBan

The Tragedy PaperPerfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Looking for Alaska Jennifer Weiner #1 New York Times bestselling author calls Elizabeth LaBan’s The Tragedy Paper “a beguiling and beautifully written tale of first love and heartbreak” It follows the story of Tim Macbeth a seventeen year old albino and a recent transfer to the prestigious Irving School where the motto is “Enter here to be and find a 35 StarsThe Tragedy Paper is not my usual type of read but something about the synopsis drew me in I was affected by this story but in a mixed way I guess this is to be expected when this tale revolves around the re telling of a tragic event involving two students Tim an albino and social outsider and Vanessa the popular and pretty girl Duncan is entering into his senior year at The Irving a boarding school in New York He’s trying to forget an event from the last year which he had a part in But he’s put smack into the middle of it when he discovers his “treasure” left in his dorm room are audio CD’s made by Tim recounting the tragedy and the months leading up to it At first Duncan doesn’t want to listen he just wants to get back to normal school life and the pursuit of a girl he hopes didn’t get away But soon the lure of finding out exactly what happened proves too hard to resist and he’s listening riveted by the story This was an unusual tale really two stories wrapped up in one First we have Duncan the senior who feels guilty about what happened to Tim and Vanessa although we have no idea why Then we have the story of Tim and Vanessa recounted by Tim through his CD’s The story slowly unfolds as flashbacks through Tim and Duncan’s recall and through that we get the bittersweet tale of how Tim and Vanessa formed an unlikely bond We also get a secondary romance of Duncan and DaisyI have to say I felt of a connection to Tim than anyone else I think this was partly due to the fact that his tale was in the first person as he was telling his story to Duncan I felt his loneliness and self consciousness profoundly throughout the story and was happy that Vanessa latched onto him I can’t imagine always feeling like everyone sees you as a freak Just the way he described reactions from people and dealing with being in public hurt my heart I yearned for him to make friends so that Vanessa wasn’t his only focus though I didn’t have the same connection to Vanessa and I while I was thrilled that she treated him as a human being and I wanted to shake her at times I’m sure she knew how much she affected Tim The situation was bittersweet and open ended Apart from Tim’s bit the rest of the story is told in the third person and I’m not sure that worked entirely well I felt a distance with Duncan and couldn’t really get a read on him Maybe if his part in the tragedy was revealed earlier I could’ve understood him and his motivations a little better This might have been purposeful because the main focus of the story was Tim and Vanessa but I think I would’ve enjoyed this if Duncan was fleshed out I wasn’t really moved by Duncan and Daisy’s romance either There was no lead up and I really knew nothing about Daisy Overall I enjoyed this story and I was anxious to find out what transpired but I also felt there was something missing I wouldn’t hesitate to pick up another read by Ms La Ban because even with some of my issues I was engrossed A copy of this was provided by Knopf Books for Young Readers through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review Thank you You can find this review and The Readers Den