The Dragon Warrior kindle È eBook 9781547604791

Katie Zhao ✓ The Dragon Warrior reader

The Dragon Warrior kindle È eBook 9781547604791 í An exhilarating tale Readers will be enthralled JC Cervantes New York Times bestselling author of The Storm RunnerA debut novel inspired by Chinese mythology this middle grade fantasy follows an outcast as she embarks on a uest to save the world from demons perfect for fans of Aru SOr But the Society has shunned Faryn and her brother Alex ever since their father disappeared years ago forcing them to train in secret Then during an errand into San Francisco Faryn stumbles into a battle with a demon and helps defeat it She just might be the fabled Heaven Breaker a powerful warrior meant to work for the all mighty deity the Jade Emperor by commanding an army of dragons to defeat the demons That is if she can prove her worth and The Dragon Warrior is dedicated to immigrants children of immigrants and diaspora kids everywhere and this book is a beautiful heartfelt and wonderful story that does its dedication justice I feel so honoured to have read this book which is very evidently a book of Katie's heart and is now of mine Follows Faryn a 12 year old girl who finds herself to be the foretold Heaven Breaker a warrior powerful enough to wield a celestial weapon and able to command dragons The Dragon Warrior feels like the best mix of Chinese mythology people of all ages especially Chinese kids will enjoy the multiple references to folktales and myths I certainly did I can't believe I read a book that references one of my greatest loves and saviours pei pa koa Not only is this book a wonderful and exciting adventure this is also a story about mixed identity Asian culture belonging connection and courage There were some wonderful relationships in this book enemies to friends tenuous sibling relationships and uirky relationships with mysterious but almighty deities I love this book for many reasons but I think at its heart it's such a fun book The pacing and momentum is excellent the characters were interesting the developments kept me on my toes and with twists that left me feeling so so intrigued and excited for the next bookTriggercontent warning view spoilerdeath of loved one hide spoiler

mobi Þ The Dragon Warrior ✓ Katie Zhao

Find the island of the immortals before the Lunar New Year With Alex and other unlikely allies at her side Faryn sets off on a daring uest across Chinatowns But becoming the Heaven Breaker will reuire sacrifices than she first realized What will Faryn be willing to give up to claim her destiny This richly woven contemporary middle grade fantasy debut full of humor magic and heart will appeal to readers who love Roshani Chokshi and Sayantani DasGup I had the great pleasure of reading this book earlier this year and even then it was fantastic I can't wait to re read the final published version of thisIt has EVERYTHING magic adventure strong family dynamics hilarious jokes food a fantastic protagonist heart warming passages and a story that keeps you glued to the page Apart from that it's just extremely uniue a fantasy adventure based on Chinese deities and spent racing through Chinatowns spread across the US And with a mixed race protagonist WHAT MORE DO YOU WANTDo yourself a favor and add this to your TBR and preorder once the links come out This book is NOT to be missed

kindle The Dragon Warrior

The Dragon WarriorAn exhilarating tale Readers will be enthralled JC Cervantes New York Times bestselling author of The Storm RunnerA debut novel inspired by Chinese mythology this middle grade fantasy follows an outcast as she embarks on a uest to save the world from demons perfect for fans of Aru Shah and the End of Time and The Serpent's SecretAs a member of the Jade Society twelve year old Faryn Liu dreams of honoring her family and the gods by becoming a warri Man am I glad I can count this to my GR challenge I am so excited to share Faryn Liu's story with the world Gods and demons and dragons food and family and fun all steeped in Chinese mythology and lore This is a book that I would have devoured as a kid and I hope young Chinese and non Chinese readers will enjoy reading it and hopefully learning a thing or two about Chinese mythologyBeyond the mythology Faryn's story is a story about seeing people for who they are rather than what they look like; it's a story that's near and dear to my heart about a girl who at the end of the day is just trying to find her family found family and blood family alike as well as her home The Chinatown settings are specifically chosen because of my childhood experience My parents who are immigrants from China would always manage to find Chinatowns in every new place we travelled to within the states They're truly magical places little pockets of homeMore than anything I hope that the Chinese readers who pick up this book will feel what I feel when I visit or write about Chinatown that feeling of belongingness of home I hope they feel proud of the rich culture and mythology of China and of themselves I hope they feel seen and heard and know that they too can be heroes