Wildlife kindle ó eBook 9781742612317 Free ¼ naturaltreatment

book Wildlife

Wildlife kindle ó eBook 9781742612317 Free ¼ naturaltreatment É During a semester in the wilderness sixteen year old Sib expects the tough outdoor education program and the horrors of dorm life but friendship drama and an unexpected romance with popular Ben Capaldi That will take some navigatingNew girl Lou End Holly Lou can't help but be drawn back into the land of the livingFans of Melina Marchetta Rainbow Rowell and E Lockhart will adore this endearing and poignant story of first love true friendship and going a little bit wi Fiona Wood you are one brave YA author Didn't anyone tell you it's not good form to kill off a beloved secondary character from a previous book Didn't anyone warn you about not ending with a romantic kiss in the moonlightBut you just ignored all the expectations and put Lou from Six Impossible Things into the most awful of times You send Dan and Estelle off page to France and then you plunk Lou down in the middle of a toxic friendship Not to mention the middle of a survival term of school in the wilderness well as wild as a private school off site camp can be hint not veryOh but you do all the wrong things so well Oh Lou Her pain is palpable and never ending Her loss has changed her And in trying to dig herself out of the spiralling darkness Lou finds her self imposed solitude sorely tried by the nasty Holly who is undermining her best friend Sibylla's confidence and self esteemThis is complicated and messy and really really sad Wood has been able to capture Lou's grief exuisitely like sharp needles pricking endlessly Sibylla's life is changing and in learning to keep true she faces some harsh facts Oh SibyllaAnd can I add one Oh MichaelOh yes Oh Fred sobKeep ignoring the tropes Ms Wood I implore you

ePub Ç õ Fiona Wood

IgatingNew girl Lou has zero interest in fitting in or joining in Still reeling from a loss that occurred almost a year ago she just wants to be left alone But as she witnesses a betrayal unfolding around Sib and her best fri A misleading cover This is actually a novel about friendshipsA top tier Aussie YA

Fiona Wood õ Wildlife eBook

WildlifeDuring a semester in the wilderness sixteen year old Sib expects the tough outdoor education program and the horrors of dorm life but friendship drama and an unexpected romance with popular Ben Capaldi That will take some nav I don't know about you but I feel as though a vast majority of YA seems to portray teenagers as hypersmart sophisticated creatures who are borderline perfect or carefully flawed in exactly the right and tolerable way As fun as that fiction can be I always feel a certain amusement for characters like that because how many of us actually were that spectacular at that age I think part of the appeal of contemporary Aussie YA for me is that it consistently offers teenagers who act like teenagers; whether they're snarly and vindictive or fumbly and sweet a lot of them just seem very real That's certainly the case with the students in Wildlife Sybilla and Lou are spending one school term doing an outdoor education program where they find that surviving the wilderness is easy in comparison to surviving deceptive friends tricky needy boys and their own uncharted feelings Things I loved about this book the funny good natured byplay between the characters; smart dialogue that zings; the way Lou's deep and private pain is slowly unpeeled until she's laid bare and vulnerable; the complex interplay between all the girls; and the way one first love is portrayed in a deeply earnest embarrassing way The author's writing feels fresh and unstudied and I was startled into both laughter and tears on than one occasion Perhaps the most unusual aspect of this book however is how sexually frank Wildlife manages to be without being laden down with angst and melodrama nor breathless with rapture over its magical life changing properties Consider these uotes which I love because of how painfully and truthfully this girl's first sexual experience is portrayed neither of us mentioned the four letter word that comes before this three letter activity in all my schemes and dreams And later Afterwards I feel wobbly and slightly shocked climbing up from under the rubble to check out the new worldDid we really just do that I want to hide my face I want to look into a mirror in private to check if I'm still me Because there's been so much discussion read hand wringing recently about how much sex is too much sex we've invited author Fiona Wood on the blog to share her thoughts on this issue do realistic sex scenes in YA fiction have value I think you'll be interested in hearing what she has to sayFiona Wood on Girls Sex and Wildlife This review also appears in The Midnight Garden An advance copy was provided by the publisher