read Voice of the Fire kindle ä Hardcover Ì alan moore

book Voice of the Fire

read Voice of the Fire kindle ä Hardcover Ì alan moore ¾ Master storyteller Alan Moore Watchmen delivers twelve interconnected stories of lust madness and ectasy all set in central England and spanning over six thousand years the narratives woven together in patterns of recurring events strange traditions and uncanOf the secrets of the landIn the tradition of Kipling's Puck of Pook's Hill Schwob's Imaginary Lives and Borges' A Universal History of Infamy Moore travels through history blending truth and conjecture in a novel that is dazzling moving sometimes tragic but always mesmerizingThis edition presents Voice of the Fire for the first time in hardcover format with full color illustrations by Jose Villarrub This book took me a little longer than I thought to read but it's Alan Moore Moore isn't a walk in the park For example the first chapter Oh God the first chapter It's not an easy read However have the first chapter it becomes easier to read Don't let the first chapter discourage you fro reading the rest of this book Voice of the Fire is a a novel set up similarly to Joyce's Dubliners While the stories don't really connect they are all in first person and they are all set in Northampton England The main difference with the stories is the years they are told in form 4000 BC AD 1995 There are 12 stories in all ending with a semi autobiographical segmentOne thing I like about this is the writing I'm only familiar with Alan Moore's comic books This is the first non comic book I read I was interesting to see how he could write without panels There are some photos here and there but this is most just words Than again Alan Moore's comic can get wordy for a comic book I thought he could pull it off This kind of reminds me of a few postmodern writersIf you like Alan Moore I would check this out

Alan Moore ↠ Voice of the Fire epub

Master storyteller Alan Moore Watchmen delivers twelve interconnected stories of lust madness and ectasy all set in central England and spanning over six thousand years the narratives woven together in patterns of recurring events strange traditions and uncanny visions First a cave boy loses his mother falls in love and learns a deadly lesson He is followed by an extraordinary cast of characters a mur 'A hind of hill ways off to sun set down is sky come like as fire and walk I up in way of this all hard of breath where is grass colding on Iā€™s feet and wetting they' It's a brave thing to begin your debut novel in the first person voice of a child with developmental issues A child that cannot distinguish dreams from reality; that cannot understand how to lie; that is incapable of looking after himself It's a braver thing too when that's not the focus of the novelAlan Moore is often mentioned as one of the most highly regarded British writers working today and yet this remains his only novel Like Neil Gaiman he had worked almost exclusively as a comic book writer until 1996 Both released their debut novels in that year Neverwhere for Gaiman Good Omens The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter Witch doesn't count here since it was co authored with Terry Pratchett and it was Pratchett that did most of the writing but whereas Gaiman grew a reputation as a Fantasy novelist this remains Moore's only novel to dateMoore's both a proud Englishman and a keen occultist so it should be no surprise that both of those influences weigh heavily on this text His subject is his home town Northampton and his metaphor is fire As a metaphor it's a useful one with many associations bright warming comforting Signal destructive transformative Here it's all of those things sometimes at the same time Mostly though it's the latter; Moore paints a dynamic landscape always changing the coming of agriculture of metals of Romans Vikings Normans all have their place in Moore's narrativeWhere authors such as Edward Rutherfurd emphasise the continuity of a place in their historical works by following different generations of the same family often in the middle of sweeping epochs Moore structures his tale by always casting different unrelated individuals in every chapter and each personal story often occurs at the time of wider social change the first chapters take the structure of the changes listed above A sense of gradual change happening alongside the obvious but superficial changes already mentioned is hinted at by the developing language used in each chapter With each written from the first person perspective of a different character always in the present tense the author builds from the Mesolithic simpleton uoted at the beginning of this review in the first chapter through successive generations of changing language words change develop some disappear and others appear You sense that the words are not just a means for expressing ideas but things which have a life of their own separate from the people and inhabiting their own time scaleThe characters and their stories re appear in the tales of others This might be why some GoodReads users have classified the book as fantasy for my own part though I prefer to see the book as straight historical fiction the reappearance of characters and their happenings occur only in dreams and at times of madness and the characters who see them perceive them only in this context That seems reasonable to me; it's clearly a manifestation of Moore's beliefs in the occult hinted at blatantly in a chapter featuring John Dee as an off screen presence but it's not fantastical per se We know that they are ancient people and events the protagonists do not and do not try to interpret them in this way They're just dreams The only other fantastic element is the monologue of the dead but again there is no interaction between the dead and the living so in this sense it may be seen as the same situation reversedThese lives from the historic period onwards all protagonists and events save authorly embellishment did occur these tales are points glittering and flowing as they are pulled around and down through a vortex Like in Cloud Atlas that structure is sign posted by the author whereas that felt patronising though here I felt it merely honest there was nothing of the smug reveal about it but rather the smile of a friend as he says 'you've caught me' Why Because of what lies at the heart of the vortex 'Comitted to a present day first person narrative there seems no other option save a personal appearance which in turn demands a strictly documentary approach' Such an ending could easily be egotistical but instead it's deftly handled and a perfect fit As the author seeks inspiration to finish his book we pound the streets of Northampton with him and we know it The town comes alive for us both as it is and as it has been Ultimately though this final reveal is shown as the curtain for this novel isn't about Northampton or even England the star of the show isn't even the characters it's history History as Moore says in this chapter burns hot Gaiman wrote an introduction in this edition in which he states that this final chapter is already the perfect introduction to the book and I can see his point the chapters could be read in almost any order but why go against the hot tide of history

reader Ç Voice of the Fire ↠ Alan Moore

Voice of the FireDeress who impersonates her victim; a fisherman who believes he has become a different species; a Roman emissary who realizes the bitter truth about the Empire; a crippled nun who is healed miraculously by a disturbing apparition; an old crusader whose faith is destroyed by witnessing the ultimate relic; two witches lovers who burn at the stake Each related tale traces a path in a journey of discovery Moore does for Northampton what he did for London in From Hell He draws an arcane map of his hometown accreting layer upon layer of time and circumstance The book is composed of twelve stories starting in 4000 BCE and ending in 1995 One of the tricks Moore uses in his work is proving connections between disparate things by using repeated themes Here as in From Hell he uses actual historical figures for the most part as his characters Or at least actual architectural and other artifacts of Northampton And a bit of research on the internet tells me that the historical figures are indeed connected by the themes as Moore suggestsHis thesis is that there's an active accessible underworld that can be accessed if we only knew the symbols and could whisper the angel language The repeated symbols include the antlered witch man lame or missing legs decapitated heads monstrous dogs a whispered unearthly language men with multiple wives and fire Moore is a self described magician not an illusionist but an honest to Baphomet sorcerer and he closes the book with he himself performing a ritualReaders who like experimental prose will enjoy deciphering the first chapter which is told in the voice of a mentally challenged prehistoric boy The boy's language is composed of a narrow vocabulary of simple words but you'll be surprised how much it conveys That first chapter is a bravura writing performanceThis book has whetted my appetite for and may in fact be a primer for Moore's upcoming second novel about Northampton Jerusalem which is due to come out later this yearI'm docking it one star because brilliant as he is sometimes Moore's show offy prose style is too self conscious Sometimes he needs to get out of his own way