FREE PDF Í BOOK The Orphan Sisters Ù NATURALTREATMENT

Shirley Dickson Ü The Orphan Sisters READER

FREE PDF Í BOOK The Orphan Sisters Ù NATURALTREATMENT ✓ A heartbreaking unputdownable and utterly unforgettable story of two young sisters cruelly abandoned by their mother at an orphanage Fans of Wives of War Lisa Wingate and Diney Costeloe will lose their hearts to this stunning World War Two novel 1929 Four year A heartbreaking unputdownable and utterly unforgettable story of two young sisters cruelly abandoned by their mother at an orphanage Fans of Wives of War Lisa Wingate and Diney Costeloe will lose their hearts to this stunning World War Two novel 1929 Four year old Etty and eight year old Dorothy are abandoned at Blakely Hall orphanage by their mother never to see her again With no other family to speak of the sisters worship their beloved ma Four year old Esther and her eight year old sister Dorothy were accompanying their mother on a “special journey” but the destination wasn’t one either of them had expected The Blakely Hall orphanage was run by a cruel bitter woman who was to be the bane of the sisters’ existence It was 1929 when they started their new lives at the orphanage and Esther strongly believed their mam would return for them But when first Dorothy left at sixteen then Esther a matter of weeks before her sixteenth birthday as war was declared Esther’s anger at their mother abandoning them hadn’t abatedWhen Dorothy and Esther – now Etty which she uite liked – moved into a little house together Etty was overjoyed The sisters were together again But it was 1940 and the country was in the grips of war with London continually under attack from air raids Their lives contained many highs and too many lows but worse was to come What would happen to the two sisters Would Etty and Dorothy know peace after the war Would they find their mother The Orphan Sisters is the debut novel by Shirley Dickson and is a heartbreaking story of hope sisterly love and support and the devastating effects of war I loved this book from the beginning – I was recommending it at only 20% in Dorothy is a kind hearted and forgiving girl while Etty is a feisty young woman determined to prove herself Thoroughly enjoyable I highly recommend The Orphan Sisters to all fans of historical fictionWith thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for my digital ARC to read in exchange for an honest review

KINDLE ´ The Orphan Sisters Ü Shirley Dickson

M – confused and heartbroken to be deserted by her when they need her the most 1940 Etty and Dorothy are finally released from the confines of Blakely Hall – but their freedom comes when the country is in the grip of World War Two and its terrors Amidst a devastating backdrop of screaming air raid sirens and cold nights huddled in shelters the sisters are desperate to put their broken childhoods behind them But trouble lies ahead Dorothy I have read some great books this year that are set in and around the world war and this is another one to add to the list What appeals most in this story is the relationship between Etty and Dorothy I am sure most of us with siblings when we were younger argued and fought like cat and dogs Etty and Dorothy though are very close Having been sent to an orphanage they only have each other The bond that grows between the two was so endearing and lovely to readAs the girls leave the orphanage we get to see what life was like for both of the young women especially within the war itself We see all the highs and lows and the turmoils that both sisters have to face I have to say it makes for a page turner of a read as I was so engrossed in what was going on The Orphan Sisters is a compelling and emotional story that will tug on the readers heart strings You really get a sense of the era that the story is set in with all the concerns and worries that the people had back then I loved though with all that going on the strength especially that characters like Etty have to just keep on going and make the most of what life deals you A superb readMy thanks to Bookouture and NetGalley for an advanced readers copy of this book All opinions are my own and not biased in anyway

EPUB The Orphan Sisters

The Orphan SistersMust bid goodbye to her beloved husband when he’s sent to war and Etty must nurse a broken heart as she falls in love with the one man she can never be with Etty and Dorothy survived the orphanage with the help of one another and neither sister can forget the awful betrayal of their mother which has haunted them their whole lives But when a shocking secret about their painful childhood comes to light will the sisters ever be the same agai Original review can be found at I received an advanced readers copy from Bookouture via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review Thank youThe Orphan Sisters followed the lives of Dorothy and Etty from the time they were little girls into adulthood It started in 1929 when the girls were eight and four This was when for some unknown reason their mother mam dropped them off at Blakely Hall an orphanage and walked out of their lives At fifteen Dorothy aged out and four years later Etty followed The book followed their lives as they struggled to adapt to life outside of the strict orphanage during a time when the country was in the throws of warI liked this book I really liked it As far as WW11 historical fiction goes this book was very simplistic compared to most I've read Although there was plenty of tragedy to be found in the pages it wasn't as detailed or traumatising as many I have read What it was that I enjoyed about this story was the bond between the two sisters I also enjoyed how it focused on society and what was acceptable behaviour at that time in historyAs far as the characters went I adored Dorothy I struggled at times with Etty she didn't always make the best decisions but in the end I was always in her corner The relationship between the two sisters was really what made this book It was the heart of the book and what kept me turning the pages It seemed that no matter what life would throw at them they could survive as long as they had each otherThis book turned out to be a very pleasant surprise for me It left me very satisfied and thankful that I had the opportunity to read it The simplicity of the writing made it easy to finish uickly This book would be good for people who are just starting to get into WW11 historical fiction as it isn't as heavy and daunting as some I will definitely pick up work by Shirley Dickson in the future