Read The Penny Heart eBook ì ebook

reader The Penny Heart

Read The Penny Heart eBook ì ebook Ê Manchester 1790 When budding young criminal Mary Jebb swindles Michael Croxton's brother with a blank pound note he chases her into the night and sets in motion a train of sinister events Condemned to seven years of transportation to Australia Mary sends him a 'Penny Heart' a token of her vow of revengeTwo yManchester 1790 When budding young criminal Mary Jebb swindles Michael Croxton's brother with a blank pound note he chases her into the night and sets in motion a train of sinister events Condemned to seven years of transportation to Australia Mary sends him a 'Penny Heart' a token of her vow of re This was yet another fantastic yarn woven by Martine Bailey that surprises you with every twist and turn as the story unravels and reveals itself Just when I thought the characters and storyline were figured out at certain points in the book it was like wow They took another direction This was an intricately thought up storyline that I absolutely enjoyed

Martine Bailey ê The Penny Heart eBook

VengeTwo years later Michael marries naïve young Grace Moore Although initially overjoyed at the union Grace uickly realizes that her husband is interested in her fortune than her company Lonely and desperate for companionship she turns to her new cook to help mend her ailing marriage But Mary Jeb this book was slow to get going but improved as the novel got going and enjoyed it with all the twists

eBook º The Penny Heart ê Martine Bailey

The Penny HeartB shipwrecked tortured and recently hired has different plans for the unsuspecting owners of Delafosse Hall A Taste for Nightshade is a thrilling historical novel that combines recipes mystery and a dark struggle between two desperate women sure to appeal to fans of Sarah Waters and Carolly Erickso I KNEW I was going to love this one from the enticing description to the delicious cover I was captivated from the first sentence and entranced throughoutI'm a sucker for a very particular kind of historical novel it must have a ring of authenticity a strong female protagonist or two and a uirky thrilling storyline What it mustn't be is a bodice ripper fluffy and feminine an insipid romanceThe Penny heart ticked all my boxes seized me by the wrist and dragged me back in time to the late 18th century where it beguiled me throughout I was introduced to not one substantial female but two and immersed in the decaying grandeur of a crumbling mansion presented with mystery upon mystery and whisked back and forth between here and Botany Bay penal colonyThe two fascinating females are Mary Jebb a cunning and enterprising orphan with skill at impersonating her betters and conning people Her immersion into the criminal underworld of Manchester leads to her downfall when she is caught mid scam and punished with a death sentence from which a last minute reprieve sees her instead transported to Australia Life here is cruel brutal and unforgiving so it's hardly surprising that she carries with her a desire for vengeance which gives her the strength to seek it outMeanwhile gentle innocent Grace Croxon a dreamy artistic girl whose only burning desire is to escape the life of drudgery she endures at the hands of her spiteful alcoholic father who constantly belittles her every attempt to make something of herself Salvation is offered in the guise of marriage to one Micheal Croxon and although they have barely met she is relieved when he turns out to be handsome and debonair that she feels an instant attraction to him seems to be the icing on her cake or will it be her downfall?In the faded grandeur of neglected semi derelict mansion DeLaFosse Hall the two womens lives evenually cross paths and we begin to unravel a mystery which keeps us guessing throughout the bookEach chapter is preceded by a recipe which features in the following chapter and as they become increasingly bizarre I found it fun to try and guess just how and where this particular receipt would appear in the storylineThe mystery is cleverly written and I went from being gently guided along and thinking maybe really nothing much was happening to whoah hold on I wasn't expecting thisThe beauty lies in two admirably created characters and a strong sense of place and authenticity I loved the book and felt uite bereft on finishing it May I give my hearfelt thanks to the author Martine Bailey for very kindly providing me with a copy to review and for entertaining and enthralling me with her delicious storytelling skill