The Crooked Letter Books of the Cataclysm #1 characters Á E-book or Kindle E-pub

read The Crooked Letter Books of the Cataclysm #1

The Crooked Letter Books of the Cataclysm #1 characters Á E-book, or Kindle E-pub µ When mirror twins Seth and Hadrian Castillo travel to Europe on holidays they don t expect the end of the world to follow them Seth s murder however puts exactly that into motion From opposite sides of death the CastiVes In the tradition of Philip Pullman and Ursula K Le Guin and inspired by numerous arcane sources the Books of the Cataclysm begin in the present world but soon propel the reader to a landscape that is simultaneously familiar and fantast. I wanted to like this book but couldn't I felt it wasted too much time and space on trying to impress the reader with just how weird this universe was On the other hand I've now found something that reads a little like HP Lovecraft

download Î E-book, or Kindle E-pub Ä Sean Williams

A reality neither of them suspected although it has been encoded in myths and legends for millennia The Earth we know is just one of many realms three of which are inhabited by humans during various stages of their lives And their afterli. This is a potentially interesting mythic fantasy that plays with theme of determinism vs free will in a context exploring an alternative explanation for the Fall and the Flood It's way too long and regardless whether you're a believer or an atheist like me I suspect you will find this as anything than an OK readhttpopionatorwordpresscom20120

Sean Williams Ä 9 download

The Crooked Letter Books of the Cataclysm #1When mirror twins Seth and Hadrian Castillo travel to Europe on holidays they don t expect the end of the world to follow them Seth s murder however puts exactly that into motion From opposite sides of death the Castillo twins grapple with. This novel is a tale of twins who are used by an alien god to start an apocalypse The story takes place in a twisted from true version of our world and in a bizarre afterlife both of which are imaginative and well fleshed outAlthough the prose is good and the ideas in the book are pretty sophisticated and intricate I didn't find the novel successful in what it was trying to do The imagery is often very surreal which could be a great thing but I usually found I had trouble picturing the world I wish the author had taken time to make things bloom to life in the reader's imagination because the greatest strength of this book could have been its wild landscapes I would have enjoyed the ride a lot if I'd been seeing the scenery instead I usually had only a vague idea of how to picture what was being describedThe afterlife depicted in the book is pretty bizarre and cool but that leads to problems too The first half of the novel seems to involve little except the two protagonists being dragged around and informed of facts by creatures knowledgeable and interesting than themselves The sheer weight of information that the author tries to convey to the reader in this fashion bogs the story down and saps it of urgencyThe resolution of the novel was mostly satisfying but the surreal nature of the story again got in the way Things made sense but still seemed to come out of left field simply because it was all a bit random Better foreshadowing might have helped but the issue seemed to be that the world didn't have well defined rules Anything could happen which means what did happen carried no emotional weightOne last small thing I have no idea why the book is called The Crooked Letter None I can't think of anything in the book that would make that a logical title for itIn summary this is a book that seemingly could have been something spectacular and weird but it instead seems to have tripped over its own aspirations and wound up being a pleasant enough read but a bit of muddle nevertheless